Church Rectors

Hanging in the Chancel is the list of Rectors emphasising our unbroken link with the church of the past. Of particular interest are:


  • Anthony de Bec
    • Left Waddington to become Bishop of Durham in 1283.


  • John Every (Rector 1733-1779)
    • Remembered chiefly for neglecting the church building, but it was during his time at Waddington that Lincoln College, Oxford became responsible for appointing our Rectors. A link with the College still exists.


  • Richard Waldo Sibthorp (Curate here 1815-1816)
    • A member of the Canwick Sibthorp family. He founded the St Anne's

Bede Houses in Lincoln, and became a Roman Catholic - twice!


  • Archdeacon George Perry (Rector 1852-1897)
    • Church historian and is commemorated in a stained glass window in the Chapter House of Lincoln Cathedral.


  • Doctor Thomas Henry Stokoe (Rector 1897-1904)
    • General Editor for the Revised version of the Bible, published in 1898.


  • Frederick William Quilter (Rector 1904 - 1911)
    • More info being acquired.


  • Edwin Howard Cobb (Rector 1911-1920)
    • Founder of the Christian Healing Centre at Crowhurst, Sussex.


  • Geoffrey Griffith (Position TBC 1953 - 1957)


Previous Rectors







We look forward to welcoming you to one of our services or activities around the village.